Skip to Content
2012-11-16 Six Tigers honored as 2012 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar Athletes
NAIA logo

Six Tigers honored as 2012 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar Athletes

Author: Travis Rae, NAIA Communications and Sports Information Intern
Posted: Saturday, November 17, 2012 at 8:33 AM

VANCOUVER, Wash. The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced that 203 men's cross country student-athletes have been named 2012 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes. Concordia (Neb.), Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) and St. Ambrose (Iowa) lead all institutions with six individuals on the list.

In order to be nominated by an institution's head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status to qualify for this honor.

Olivet Nazarene University had six athletes honored this year: seniors Kyle Boone (Dixon, Ill.) and Nicholas Mizeur (Moline, Ill.), juniors James Fisher (Wales, Mich.),  Matthew Logan (Dixon, Ill.), Jesse Stanford (Bolingbrook, Ill.), and Daniel Wells (Danville, Ill.). Boone is the only second time recipient and the other five are first time selections.